Nature’s Cry

Trees release leaves, the fall wind blows,

Falling leaves mirroring the teardrops falling from my eyes.

Clinging safely to lashes wet with dewy droplets a single tear tethers,

Like the remaining leaf clinging to the familiarity of a tree branch.

Afraid to fall, afraid to let go, afraid of the unknown.

Another month passes in my life,

Barely I notice the changing days on the calendar.

Struggling for an answer that I can’t find,

To a question repeated incessantly in my head.

I want to scream, to make this all stop,

The pain, the tears, the heartache.

Instead I find solace in the cool fall breeze,

Watching the falling leaves that are Earth’s tears.

 

 

Leave a Reply

